Aftermath ~ Charles Sheffield ~ Signed Limited Edition, Certificate of Authenticity ~ 1998, Easton Press, Leather ~ As New - image 1 of 10

Aftermath

By Charles Sheffield

Signed First Edition

Bound in Genuine Leather

Limited Edition

#463 of 1,000 copies

Certificate of Authenticity

Frontispiece by Jeff Fisher

1998, The Easton Press, Norwalk, Connecticut

Sewn binding. Golden brown leather over boards with gilt decoration on front and back and design and lettering on spine. Integral ribbon marker sewn in. Four spine hubs. All edges of leaves gilt. Moiré endpapers. 8 5/8", 452 pages, Signature page (also signed with note to the purchaser on the Title page), Frontispiece, acknowledgements, Prologue, Certificate of Authenticity, a note about Aftermath card

An As New, apparently never read, copy. Integral ribbon bookmark appearing untouched.

From the About Aftermath and the Author card:

Charles Sheffield was in his 40's when, frustrated by the "content-free" science fiction he was finding n the bookstore, he decided to try writing himself. His debut novel appeared in 1978 and Sheffield was soon hailed as a master of "hard" science fiction - science fiction in the tradition of Isaac Asimov and Robert Heinlein, that takes its science seriously. while his provocative ideas and compelling tales range widely in space and time, they are always grounded in the true logic and potential of science and technology.
Sewn binding. Red leather over boards with gilt decoration on front and back and design and lettering on spine. Integral ribbon marker sewn in. Six spine hubs. All edges of leaves gilt. Moiré endpapers. Bookplate inside front, unsigned. 9.5", 912 pages, Signature page, Frontispiece, contents page, list of illustrations, list of maps, notes, acknowledgements, index

Unlike most science fiction authors, Charles Sheffield is a trained and working scientist. Educated at Cambridge University, where he earned an M.A. in mathematics and Ph.D. in theoretical physics, he is a respected specialist on satellite technology and former president of the American Society (as well as of the Science Fiction Writers of America). Among his most celebrated works are "The Web between the Worlds," "Brother to Dragons," and the short-story collection, "Georgia on my Mind," the title story of which won the Hugo and Nebula awards.

His new novel, "Aftermath," portrays the desperate struggle to survive after a supernova caused cataclysmic changes in the Earth's environment. With "Aftermath," Charles Sheffield again demonstrates why he is considered one of the very few authors in science fiction who combines both sophisticated scientific knowledge and imaginative literary gifts.

BEP

ITEM ID
00074
ITEM TYPE
Vintage

Kilpatrick's Books and More

Aftermath ~ Charles Sheffield ~ Signed Limited Edition, Certificate of Authenticity ~ 1998, Easton Press, Leather ~ As New

$125



    Silver

    since 2021